Doug Yates

Doug Yates has been around the sound of revving engines for as long as he can remember.  You could say, it’s in his DNA. This comes as no surprise when you happen to be the son of a living legend, famed engine builder and team owner Robert Yates.  

With a passion for stock car racing and making horsepower, Doug not only carries on a deep rooted father-and-son heritage of winning, he continues to build a reputation in motorsports as both a world class engine builder and respected businessman.

Born and raised in the heart of Charlotte, NC, Doug attended North Carolina State University and received a degree in mechanical engineering in 1990 and in 2015 was inducted into the MAE Hall of Fame. With his education in hand coupled with a keen fascination with making horsepower and his desire to push innovation, Doug soon became head engine builder at Robert Yates Racing.

By 1999, Doug’s knowledge and responsibility culminated in one of his proudest on-track moments when, as head engine builder for team driver Dale Jarrett, the group combined for the overall Winston Cup (now NASCAR Sprint Cup) championship. This crowning achievement in Doug’s life motivated him to go even faster.

In 2004, legendary engine builders Jack Roush and Robert Yates were the only teams running Ford engines in NASCAR’s premiere series. In an effort to combine knowledge and technology, the men joined forces and formed what is now known as Roush Yates Engines, becoming the exclusive Ford Engine Build for NASCAR. Led by President & CEO Doug Yates they turned this partnership into an immediate success with winning the 2004 Sprint Cup Championship. Since 2004, Roush Yates Engines has achieved over 254 combined wins in the NASCAR and IMSA (International Motor Sports Association) series.

In 2009, Doug shifted his focus exclusively to engines and purchased his father’s half of Roush Yates Engines to become a co-owner in the company. Today as CEO, Doug leads a staff of 180 employees located in three state-of-the-art facilities; Roush Yates Engines, Roush Yates Performance Engines Group and Roush Yates Manufacturing Solutions. Doug has grown Roush Yates Engines from a NASCAR Sprint Cup engine shop to a global engine company that designs, develops, manufactures, and tests world-class engines for multiple race series including: 

·      NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

·      NASCAR Xfinity Series

·      NASCAR Camp World Truck Series

·      IMSA (International Motor Sports Association) WeatherTech Sportscar Championship

·      IMSA Continental Tire SporstCar Challenge

·      FIA (Federation Internationale De L’Automobile) World Endurance Championship 

Doug’s continuous commitment to Ford and their racing program is respected all over the world.  Ford has always been his manufacturer of choice, and he is especially proud of partnering with Ford Performance to develop the first purpose built race engine, the Ford FR9 V8.

May 2015 marked 25 years that Doug Yates has worked in the motorsports industry. He challenges himself and his team each and every day to be better, unique and different.  Whether he is building champion caliber engines or giving back to the community, Doug continues to exemplify tradition and the pursuit of excellence that will follow him well into the future.

Doug Yates Achievements:

  • 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996 – Copenhagen/Skoal All-Pro Team
  • 1992, 1996, 2000, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2015 – Engine Builder for Daytona 500 Champion
  • 1999 – Head Engine Builder for Winston Cup Champion with Dale Jarrett
  • 1999 – Henry Ford Racing Achievement Award
  • 2000 – Chase All-Star Award
  • 2004 – Head Engine Builder for Nextel Cup Champion with Kurt Busch
  • 2005 – Roush Yates Engines power 5 cars into the Chase for the Sprint Cup
  • 2006 – Clevite Engine Builder of the Year Award, NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series
  • 2006 – Engine Builder for Nationwide Series Champion with Carl Edwards
  • 2007 – NASCAR Nationwide Series Champion with Carl Edwards
  • 2011 – NASCAR Nationwide Series Owners Points Champion
  • 2011 – Clevite Engine Builder of the Year Award, NASCAR Sprint Cup & Xfinity Series
  • 2011 – NASCAR Nationwide Series Champion with Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.
  • 2012 – NASCAR Nationwide Series Champion with Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.
  • 2012 – IMSA Rolex 24 at Daytona Podium Sweep
  • 2013 – NASCAR Nationwide Series Owners Points Champion
  • 2014 – NASCAR Nationwide Series Owners Points Champion
  • 2015 – Achieved 100th NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Win
  • 2015 – Swept Daytona, winning IMSA Rolex 24 & all NASCAR races
  • 2015 – Achieved 100th NASCAR Xfinity Series Win
  • 2015 – NASCAR Xfinity Series Owners Points Champion
  • 2015 – NASCAR Xfinity Series Champion with Chris Buescher
  • 2015 – Clevite Engine Builder of the Year Award, NASCAR Xfinity Series
  • 2015 – NC State University MAE Hall of Fame Inductee